LATIN 2020 : Latin American Symposium on Theoretical Informatics

in Conferences   Posted on October 13, 2019 

Conference Information

Submission Deadline Sunday 17 Nov 2019 Proceedings indexed by :
Conference Dates May 25, 2020 - May 29, 2020
Conference Address São Paulo, Brazil
Conference & Submission Link
Conference Organizers : ( Deadline extended ? Click here to edit )

Conference Ranking & Metrics (This is a TOP Conference)

Impact Score 1.49
#Contributing Top Scientists 13
#Papers published by Top Scientists 10
Google Scholar H5-index 12
Guide2Research Overall Ranking: 664
Category Rankings
Computational Theory and Mathematics 60

Conference Call for Papers



LATIN 2020

The 14th Latin American Theoretical Informatics Symposium


A series of Symposia in Theoretical Computer Science was launched in

1992, to be held in Latin America: LATIN, Latin American Theoretical

Informatics. This is the 14th event of the series, after São Paulo,

Brazil (1992), Valparaiso, Chile (1995), Campinas, Brazil (1998),

Punta del Este, Uruguay (2000), Cancún, Mexico (2002), Buenos Aires,

Argentina (2004), Valdivia, Chile (2006), Búzios, Brazil (2008),

Oaxaca, Mexico (2010), Arequipa, Peru (2012), Montevideo, Uruguay

(2014), and Buenos Aires, Argentina (2018).

In 2020, LATIN will be held in São Paulo, Brazil.

For further information on LATIN, visit




LATIN is devoted to different areas in theoretical computer science

including, but not limited to: algorithms (approximation, online,

combinatorial optimization, etc.), algorithmic game theory, analytic

combinatorics and analysis of algorithms, automata theory and formal

languages, combinatorics and graph theory, computational algebra and

number theory, computational complexity, computational biology,

computational geometry, data structures and information retrieval,

foundations of data science and theoretical machine learning, parallel

and distributed computing, quantum computing, randomization and

pseudorandomness, sublinear algorithms and testing.




Maria-Florina Balcan, Carnegie Mellon University

Nikhil Bansal, CWI and Eindhoven University of Technology

Maria Chudnovsky, Princeton University

Nicole Immorlica, Microsoft Research

Subhash Khot, New York University

Eduardo Sany Laber, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro

Alexander Razborov, The University of Chicago

Luca Trevisan, Bocconi University

Bianca Zadrozny, IBM Research Brazil




Abstract Submission: 10 November 2019

Submission: 17 November 2019

Notification: 3 February 2020

Camera Ready: 24 February 2020

Symposium: 25 to 29 May 2020

All deadlines are AOE time zone.




As in previous editions, the proceedings of LATIN 2020 will be

published in Springer\’s Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Visit the

LATIN webpage at SpringerLink:




Full papers are to be submitted electronically using the EasyChair

server at

Submissions are limited to twelve (12) single-column letter-size pages

in Springer LNCS format (check Springer\’s authors\’ guidelines and

other details at

This page limit includes figures and references. An optional appendix

(to be read at the program committee\’s discretion) may be included if

desired. Submissions deviating substantially from this format risk

rejection without consideration of their merits.

Manuscripts submitted to LATIN should present original, previously

unpublished work. At the time of their submission to LATIN, manuscripts

must not have been submitted to any other conference or scientific journal.

Simultaneous submission of papers to any other conference with published

proceedings is not allowed.

Papers must be written in English. For each accepted paper at least

one author must register and attend the symposium to present it.

Moreover, an author cannot register for multiple papers. That is,

each accepted paper must have its own registered presenter.




Yoshiharu Kohayakawa (Chair), Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Flávio Keidi Miyazawa (Chair), Universidade de Campinas, Brazil

Andris Ambainis, University of Latvia, Latvia

Frédérique Bassino, Université Paris 13, France

Flavia Bonomo, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Prosenjit Bose, Carleton University, Canada

Olivier Carton, Université Paris Diderot, France

Ferdinando Cicalese, University of Verona, Italy

José Rafael Correa, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Pierluigi Crescenzi, Université Paris Diderot, France

Luc Devroye, McGill University, Canada

Martin Dietzfelbinger, TU Ilmenau, Germany

David Fernández-Baca, Iowa State University, USA

Esteban Feuerstein, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Eldar Fischer, The Technion, Israel

Pierre Fraigniaud, Université Paris Diderot, France

Martin Fürer, The Pennsylvania State University, USA

Anna Gál, The University of Texas at Austin, USA

Ron Holzman, The Technion, Israel

Marcos Kiwi, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Teresa Krick, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina

Cláudia Linhares Sales, Universidade Federal do Ceará, Brazil

Kazuhisa Makino, Kyoto University, Japan

Conrado Martínez, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain

Marco Molinaro, Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Veli Mäkinen, University of Helsinki, Finland

Gonzalo Navarro, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Rolf Niedermeier, TU Berlin, Germany

Rafael Oliveira, University of Toronto, Canada

Roberto Imbuzeiro Oliveira, IMPA, Brazil

Daniel Panario, Carleton University, Canada

Alessandro Panconesi, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy

Pan Peng, University of Sheffield, UK

Ely Porat, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Paweł Prałat, Ryerson University, Canada

Pavel Pudlák, Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic

Svetlana Puzynina, Saint Petersburg State University, Russia

Sergio Rajsbaum, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico

Andrea Richa, Arizona State University, USA

Rahul Santhanam, University of Oxford, UK

Asaf Shapira, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Alistair Sinclair, UC Berkeley, USA

Mohit Singh, Georgia Tech, USA

Maya Stein, Universidad de Chile, Chile

Jayme Luiz Szwarcfiter, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Eli Upfal, Brown University, USA

Jorge Urrutia, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico

Brigitte Vallée, Université de Caen, France

Mikhail V. Volkov, Ural Federal University, Russia

Raphael Yuster, University of Haifa, Israel




As of 2012, the Imre Simon Test-of-Time Award is given to the LATIN

paper deemed most influential among all those published at least ten

years prior to the current edition of the conference. Papers

published in the LATIN proceedings up to and including 2010 are

eligible for the 2020 award.




Papers presented at the conference will be considered for the LATIN

2020 Alejandro Lopez-Ortiz Best Paper Award.




Poster sessions are planned to facilitate and promote the attendance

of students and young researchers. Details of the poster submission

procedure will be given in the second call for papers.




Carla Negri Lintzmayer, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil

Guilherme Oliveira Mota, Universidade Federal do ABC, Brazil

José Coelho de Pina, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Yoshiko Wakabayashi, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil




Michael A. Bender, Stony Brook University, USA

Cristina G. Fernandes, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Joachim von zur Gathen, Bonn-Aachen International Center for Information Technology, Germany

Evangelos Kranakis, Carleton University, Canada

Kirk Pruhs, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Alfredo Viola, Universidad de la República, Uruguay