FG 2019 : The 24th Conference on Formal Grammar

  in Conferences   Posted on February 3, 2019

Conference Information

Submission Deadline Friday 08 Mar 2019
Conference & Submission Link http://fg.phil.hhu.de/2019/
Conference Dates Aug 10, 2019 - Aug 11, 2019
Conference Address Riga, Latvia
Proceedings indexed by
Conference Organizers : ( Deadline extended ? Click here to edit )

Conference Call for Papers

1st CFP

FG 2019

The 24th Conference on Formal Grammar

Riga, Latvia, August 10-11, 2019


Co-located with the European Summer School

in Logic, Language and Information



FG 2019 is the 24th conference on Formal Grammar, to be held in

conjunction with the European Summer School in Logic, Language and

Information which, in 2019, will take place at University of Latvia,

Riga, Latvia.

Previous Formal Grammar meetings were held in Barcelona (1995), Prague

(1996), Aix-en-Provence (1997), Saarbrücken (1998), Utrecht (1999),

Helsinki (2001), Trento (2002), Vienna (2003), Nancy (2004), Edinburgh

(2005), Malaga (2006), Dublin (2007), Hamburg (2008), Bordeaux (2009),

Copenhagen (2010), Ljubljana (2011), Opole (2012), Düsseldorf (2013),

Tübingen (2014), Barcelona (2015), Bozen-Bolzano (2016), Toulouse

(2017), and Sofia (2018).


FG provides a forum for the presentation of new and original research

on formal grammar, mathematical linguistics and the application of

formal and mathematical methods to the study of natural language.

Themes of interest include, but are not limited to,

+ formal and computational phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics

and pragmatics;

+ model-theoretic and proof-theoretic methods in linguistics;

+ logical aspects of linguistic structure;

+ constraint-based and resource-sensitive approaches to grammar;

+ learnability of formal grammar;

+ integration of stochastic and symbolic models of grammar;

+ foundational, methodological and architectural issues in grammar

and linguistics;

+ mathematical foundations of statistical approaches to linguistic


Previous conferences in this series have welcomed papers from a wide

variety of frameworks.


We invite *electronic* submissions of original, 16-page papers

(including references and possible technical appendices). Authors are

encouraged to use the Springer-Verlag LNCS style:


The submission deadline is *March 8, 2019*. Papers must be

*anonymous* and submitted electronically at EasyChair:


Papers should report original work which was not presented in other

conferences. However, simultaneous submission is allowed, provided

that the authors indicate other conferences to which the work was

submitted in a footnote. Note that accepted papers can only be

presented in one of the venues.

Submissions will be reviewed anonymously by at least three reviewers.


+ March 8, 2019: Deadline for paper submission

+ May 6, 2019: Notification of acceptance

+ May 19, 2019: Camera ready copies due

+ August 10-11, 2019: Conference dates


Berthold Crysmann (CNRS – LLF, France)

Philippe de Groote (LORIA—INRIA Nancy, France)

Nissim Francez (Technion, Israel)

Thomas Graf (Stony Brook University, USA)

Laura Kallmeyer (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, Germany)

Makoto Kanazawa (Hosei University, Japan)

Stepan Kuznetsov (Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia)

Alessandri Lenci (University of Pisa, Italy)

Robert Levine (Ohio State University, USA)

Glyn Morrill (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain)

Reinhard Muskens (Tilburg University, the Netherlands)

Stefan Müller (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)

Mark-Jan Nederhof (University of St Andrews, UK)

Rainer Osswald (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, Germany)

Christian Retoré (LIRMM – Université Montpellier 2, France)

Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Queen Mary University of London, UK)

Manfred Sailer (Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany)

Ed Stabler (UCLA, USA)

Jesse Tseng (CNRS – CLLE-ERSS, France)

Oriol Valentín (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain)

Christian Wurm (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, Germany)

Ryo Yoshinaka (Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan)


+ Raffaella Bernardi (University of Trento, Italy)

+ Greg Kobele (Universität Leipzig, Germany)

+ Sylvain Pogodalla (INRIA Nancy/LORIA, France)